The Welsh Association of Stroke Physicians (WASP) was set late 1999 to promote care of stroke patients through out Wales.


1.    To promote care of stroke patients in Wales through

2.    Encouraging interdisciplinary working, promoting and sharing best practice among professionals involved in stroke care 

3.    Facilitating continuing professional development and educational opportunities through clinical, scientific and professional meetings and conferences

4.    Promoting high quality training in stroke care

5.    Encourage research and development in the management of stroke and related fields

6.    Provision of a forum for the communication of ideas and mutual peer  support for the members

7.    Taking a key role in the Welsh Assembly Government’s medical advisory structure and contributing to the development of strategies and services for the people affected by stroke in Wales

8.    Responding to consultative documents and media queries

Provision of advice and establishing links with appropriate professional, voluntary and lay bodies for the welfare of people affected by stroke


Full Membership

Full membership of the Association is open to all physicians with an interest in stroke care (including staff grade doctors and associate specialist) involved in stroke care. They all have full voting rights.

List of Full Members

Associate Membership

Associate membership is open to persons who, in the opinion of the Executive Committee, are suitably qualified professional people, retired or working, or in training in the field of stroke care.  Associate members however will not hold voting rights.

List of Executive Members

Executive Committee of WASP and its Role


The Executive Committee work on behalf of the members to achieve objectives of the group. The management of the business, both financial and professional, are vested in the Executive Committee.

The Executive Committee consist of:

·         Chair

·         Immediate past chair

·         Vice Chair

·         Secretary

·         Treasurer

·         Chair Stroke Research & Development Group

·         Regional representatives (one each from South East Wales, Mid and South West Wales and North Wales)

·         Editor Welsh Stroke Bulletin

(The names of the above will be update soon)

Election of Executive Officers

The executive members are elected at the annual general meeting (AGM).  Each recognised WASP region elects one representative to the executive. Executive officers must be the full members of the WASP. Calls for nominations are notified well in advance of election. The Officers (including regional officers) hold office


Annual General Meeting

The annual General Meeting are held annually and 30 working days notice is given to all members